Top

Project Roles

Your Project Role defines what you can and cannot do within a Project in ConceptShare. The Project Role controls such functions as whether you can add, edit or delete people assigned to a Project, whether you can upload and edit Assets contained within a Project, whether you can create or participate in Reviews contained within a Project, etc.
 
ConceptShare allows you to have different Project Roles for each Project you are working on. This provides a great level of control over who can do what within your Account.

ProjectRole_select.PNGTo view or edit the Project Roles in your ConceptShare Account, click on Settings, click on the Project Roles option.


ProjectRole_Dash.PNG
This will open the Project Role Settings screen.

ConceptShare is delivered pre-configured with three Project Roles. These cannot be edited. They are:

Project Administrator: This Role allows you complete control over a Project, from viewing and editing the Resources on the Project, to adding Assets, Deliverables and To-Dos. All project permissions are set to Yes.  The resource designated as the Owner of the project is automatically given Project Administrator permissions.
 
Commentator: A Commentator is allowed to view and comment on items within a Project.
 
View Only: This Role allow you to view Assets and Folders together with their comments, but you can’t add, edit or delete anything within the Project.
 

To create a new Project Role, navigate to the Project Role Settings in ConceptShare as before.
 


Click on the small + at the bottom of the list of Project Roles.  This will open the Add Role dialogue box.



Type a name for the new Role and click on the Save button.

The Code is auto populated by ConceptShare.  

The new Role will appear in the list of Project Roles within your ConceptShare Account.  By default, the new Role has all of its Permissions preset to No and you will need to edit to update them.

ProjectRole_Edit.PNG

To change the permissions assigned to a role, click on the name of the Project Role you wish to modify and click on the Edit button.

Toggle Yes or No to assign each Permission to the Project Role.

Each Permission associated with the Project Role controls what you can and can’t do within a Project.  These Permissions are:
 

Edit Projects: This Permission allows you to make edits to the Project you are working in.  Toggle this On if the Role will be leading, or managing Projects; if the Role will only be a participant in the Project, this should be toggled Off.

Manage Project Workflow:  This permission allows you to Pause, Stop, or Restart the workflow attached to a Project. For users who are not administering Projects this should be toggled Off.
 
View Project Resources: This controls whether one can see who is assigned to a Project.  If this is toggled Off, users assigned this role will not be able to see the Resources tab in a Project.
 
Add, edit or delete Project Resources: This Permission controls whether they can add or remove people who are assigned to a Project.

Folder Permissions control whether you can see Folders, Edit the name and description of Folders, Add Files and other Folders to Folders, and Delete Folders.  These should be toggled On or Off as required.

Note: In order to be able to Edit, Add content and Delete Folders, you must also have the See Folders permission applied.
 

These control visibility of Assets, the ability to Edit Assets, Delete Assets and Download an Asset. 

Note: For reviewers to see an asset inside a review they need to have See Assets enabled.
 

To-Dos are actionable items in ConceptShare.  These project settings control the ability to add new To-Dos, Edit existing To-Dos, or Delete To-Dos.  If the option to See all To-Dos is disabled you can only impact To-Dos that you have been assigned. If you can see all To-Dos you can impact any To-Dos in the projects you are a part of.

Deliverables are sub-containers inside of a project.  These project settings control the ability to add new, edit, or Delete Deliverables.  If the option to See all Deliverables is disabled you can only impact Deliverables that you have created, or been assigned to. If you can See all Deliverables you can impact any deliverables in the projects you are a part of.  

Feedback and Approval Reviews allow you to formally gather responses from selected resources.  These permissions control whether one can Add, Edit and Delete Reviews which they are a part of.  Additionally can they See, Edit and Delete all Reviews, regardless of ownership.

You can also specify whether this role has the permission to globally approve, or reject reviews.  This effectively summarizes or overrides the existing responses.

Generally, it is recommended that the ability to Edit and Delete Reviews is only made available key players in your account so that there are fewer variables impacting them.

These address the role's ability to See Comments made on Assets, Add Comments to Assets, and Edit and Delete their own and others’ Asset Comments. Access can also be controlled for the ability to View, Add and Edit Asset Comment Replies.

Note: Edit permissions are needed to be able to publish Draft comments

We recommend you limit the ability to Edit and Delete Asset Comments to ensure that you have a clear and complete record of all Feedback. In review and approval it is vital to make sure no feedback gets missed and the context of a communication thread is not lost.

The final Permission controls whether the role can post directly on the Project’s Activity Feed. You can find more information on using the Activity Feed in the Job Aid: Activity Feeds

 

Why does editing permissions on an asset/folder not save when I view it through the Project Roles?

When you edit permissions on an asset or folder, you are not modifying the Project Role. You are modifying permissions based on roles only for that folder and its contents.

Why?

This gives you the ability to layer your permissions in a hierarchy throughout the contents of a project.

 

Default Project Roles: Resource vs Team. Which takes priority?

There are 2 separate Default Project Role fields in the system. One exists on the Resource and one exists on the team, so which takes priority?

EXAMPLE
    Resource email: Tylor Spence, support@conceptshare.com
    Default project role: role1
    Teams: Tylor Spence is on the "Marketing" team which has a Default Project Role of role2

SCENARIOS

    1)  Tylor Spence is added to a project: Tylor Spence is assigned the Default Project Role of role1 (unless otherwise specified)

    2) Marketing is added to project: Tylor Spence is assigned the teams Default Project Role of role2 (unless otherwise specified)

    3) Both Tylor Spence and Marketing are added to the project: Tylor Spence's permissions on the project are a merger or role1 and role2. The higher permission is always used for each field in this scenario.

If role1 and role2 have a value set to No, then Tylor Spence cannot do that thing. However, if either (or both) role1 or role2 has the permission set to Yes, then Tylor Spence can do that thing.


Congratulations!

You can now set up Project Roles in ConceptShare. This will make sure that the people you invite to be involved in your Projects have just the right level of access to make sure they can play an active part in your Creative Operations Management process.


Further Reading:

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request